The Cedar Valley Region boasts strong public and private educational systems from early childhood education to master’s degree programs.

This region sees great value in not only educating our current workforce to improve economic impact in our area, but we also see the opportunity to nurture today’s students to be the workers of tomorrow.

Higher Education

The universities and colleges serving the Cedar Valley Region of Iowa award more than 3,500 degrees annually, and the community colleges and technical schools graduate over 3,000 students per year.

Universities, Colleges and Community Colleges
Serving Cedar Valley Region
State Regents Universities
University of Northern Iowa (UNI)
UNI is located within the Cedar Falls/Waterloo metro area and has a student enrollment of approximately 13,000. UNI is one of three regent universities in Iowa. The University consistently ranks high in Midwest top public comprehensive universities by U.S. News and World Report.
Private Universities and Colleges
Kaplan University
Kaplan University is an accredited institution with a campus based location in Cedar Falls. The education provider offers more than 125 degrees and programs. Kaplan is a completely different kind of university—one that puts education above tradition, with technology that works for its students, not the other way around.
Upper Iowa University
Upper Iowa is a private, four-year liberal arts college based in Fayette, Iowa with a satellite campus site in the middle of the Cedar Valley that serves approximately 500 students in its Waterloo center.
Wartburg College
Located in Waverly and founded in 1852, Wartburg College is a selective four-year liberal arts college of the Lutheran Church (ELCA), nationally recognized for community engagement. The college offers more than 50 academic majors and pre-professional and certificate programs leading to the bachelor's degree. The college has a student enrollment of approximately 1,800 students. U.S. News and World Report have included it as one of the top liberal arts colleges in the nation in their annual America’s Best Colleges issue. Wartburg is one of only 34 colleges profiled as a college of distinction in the central U.S. region.
Community/Technical Colleges
Allen College
Allen College has a tradition of more than 78 years of excellence in healthcare education. Allen College students may enroll in the following degree programs: Associate of Science in Radiography, Bachelor of Health Sciences, Bachelor of Science in Nursing, Master of Science in Nursing and Doctor of Nursing Practice degree programs. Allen College is regionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.
Hawkeye Community College
Hawkeye Community College has a main campus in the heart of the Cedar Valley Region, and features seven other locations throughout the area and currently serves more than 6,200 students. Hawkeye offers more than 52 one-year and two-year programs for credit classes. The institution also provides Business and Community Education classes, specialized training geared toward business and industry and classes for high school students during their junior and senior years so they may attain college credits early.
Iowa Valley Community College (IVCC)
IVCCD is unique among Iowa's community college districts because it operates two separate community colleges under the umbrella of one district. IVCC operates Marshalltown Community College and Ellsworth Community College in Iowa Falls, as well as a satellite campus known as Iowa Valley Grinnell. It also operates Iowa Valley Continuing Education, which offers hundreds of adult and continuing education programs, business and industry training, and many unique and specialized programs and services district wide.
North Iowa Community College (NIACC)
The mission of the North Iowa Area Community College is to enhance the quality of life for people of North Iowa through comprehensive educational opportunities, progressive partnerships, exemplary service, and responsive leadership.
Northeast Iowa Community College (NICC)
Northeast Iowa Community College provides accessible, affordable, quality education and training to meet the needs of our communities in the northern part of the Cedar Valley Region.